Anchor
Anchor

Riversides and Ponds

A Blessing from Nature

Taoyuan is known as the Land of a Thousand Ponds. The ponds and pools scattered across the county played an important role in irrigation and water storage. Though they no longer serve such important functions, the ponds and pools are now increasingly the subject of nationwide renewal efforts to preserve and promote their cultural, ecological, scenic, and recreational values.

Riversides and Ponds

Riversides and Ponds

Biodiversity in the Ponds

Abundant natural resources can be found along the Northern Cross-Island Highway, an area rich in biodiversity. Both low and mid altitude biosystems can be found here. Daxi Town is a good location for low-altitude nature appreciation, where birds, insects, and frogs can be spotted in Touliao and Cihu. This is a visit not to be missed by nature lovers. Daxi is also an important water source, with the Shimen Reservoir, Dahan River, and Touliao Pool all located here. These water bodies add to Daxi's charm as an ideal destination for vacation.

Dahan River Views

Daxi River originates in Hsinchu County and flows through Taoyuan, eventually joining the Tamsui River. River transport led to flourishing business and commerce activities that contributed to Daxi's early boom era. The Daxi Bridge spans the Dahan River. Its Baroque architecture and night lighting design leave a deep and enduring impression on visitors. With its romantic views overseeing the Dahan River, it is a favorite dating spot amongst young couples.

Lake Scenes in Cihu

Cihu was originally known as Piwei. It was also called Dongkou ("cave opening") because of its close proximity to the Baiji Tunnel. Houcihu is a crescent-shaped lake that was originally known as the "dragon over Piwei."Being a military restricted area for many years, Houcihu's environment and biodiversity have been well-preserved. Camphor and incense-cedar are the most symbolic types of plant life in the area. The lakeside trail is excellent for watching birds, butterflies, and maple leaves.

 

Recommended Attractions

Top

跳到主要内容区块
定位点

桃园观光导览网

定位点

水岸埤塘

大自然心灵飨宴

桃园一向有「千塘之乡」的美名,境内星罗棋布的埤塘,曾扮演水利灌溉及储水的重要角色,尽管今日盛况不再,但各地陆续推动埤塘再造运动,就是要完整保存埤塘的文化、生态、景观休闲等功能,并推荐给全国民众此一珍贵的埤塘资源。

水岸埤塘

水岸埤塘

埤塘赏生态

北横沿线拥有丰富的自然资源,生态更是丰富。境内包括了低海拔与中海拔的自然生态分布。以大溪为起点的低海拔地区,於头寮、慈湖地区,可欣赏到鸟類、昆虫与蛙類的栖息景况,热爱生态观赏的游客千万不能错过。这里也有丰富的水源,如石门水库、大汉溪、头寮大池,使得大溪成为一个山明水秀的度假胜地。

丰富的埤塘生态远比你想像得还有趣!拿起望远镜,在波光粼粼的水岸,捕捉候鸟飞翔的姿态﹔夜间凉风吹拂下,点点萤光是旅行中的最美亮点。

大汉溪美景

大汉溪源流於新竹县,流经桃园市境内,因大汉溪与淡水河汇流,河运带动繁荣商机,进而造就了大溪早年的风光盛世。横跨於大汉溪上的大溪桥,巴洛克式牌楼及夜间光影变化设计,营造出富丽堂皇的气势,可俯瞰大汉溪美景,为情侣欣赏浪漫夜景之最佳去处。

慈湖赏湖光

慈湖原名埤尾,因临近百吉隧道出口故又称洞口。新月形的後慈湖,原名「龙过脉埤」。由於後慈湖长年列为军事管制区,所以生态及环境的保持相当完整。主要以樟树及肖楠为代表性植物,湖畔的步道也是赏鸟、赏蝶、赏枫的绝佳地点。

 

推荐景点

Top